Skip to Main Content

Gellert Library: About

Gellert | NDNU

Fall 2024 Hours

Monday: 10 am – 6:30 pm
Tuesday: 11 am – 9 pm
Wednesday: 2 pm – 9 pm
Thursday: 10 am – 9 pm
Friday: 10 am – 3:30 pm

We will be closed  Wednesday, November 27–Friday, November 29 for Thanksgiving.

Gellert Library Staff

Rachel Paprocki, MA | Reference, Access, and Technical Librarian

Rachel Paprocki studied English Literature at Pepperdine University and holds a master’s in theology from Fuller Theological Seminary. In her current graduate studies in library science at San Jose State, Rachel focuses on digital humanities and archives. She’s also an avid baker, cyclist, and yogi. Rachel lives in Los Angeles with cats Monica and Sweatpants. 

rpaprocki@ndnu.edu | Meet with Rachel

Annegret Agyapong, Reference Assistant & Student Mentor

Annegret Elizabeth Agyapong embarked on her academic journey with a BSc. Psychology from the University of Cape Coast in Ghana. Presently, she finds herself immersed in an international community at Notre Dame De Namur University in Belmont, CA. Her passion lies in guiding today's youth towards realizing their potential, advocating for the positive utilization of their talents for societal and personal enrichment. Amidst her pursuits, she revels in the melodic strains of music, the enriching exchange of cultures, and cherished moments with friends. Residing in San Bruno, California, she thrives on fostering meaningful connections and contributing to her community's well-being. 

Vee Marroquin Nuno, Reference Assistant & Student Mentor

Virene, who prefers to be called Vee, is a recent graduate from UC Merced with a bachelor's degree in psychology. She is thrilled to be a RASM, especially since she comes from a library background at her previous college. The library is a place she calls home and where she finds comfort. Vee is always on the lookout for the next great book, so if you see her, please feel free to suggest your personal favorites. She is genuinely excited to immerse herself in this role, learn as much as she can, and grow within the library community. If you need anything or have any questions, please don't hesitate to reach out to her. She is more than happy to help!

Amanda Thompson, Reference Assistant & Student Mentor

Amanda Thompson is an aspiring mental health professional working towards her Masters in Clinical Psychology at NDNU. With a decade in the tech industry, Amanda integrates her analytical skills with therapeutic practices, specializing in adolescent advocacy and counseling across the mid-peninsula. Her dedication extends beyond her professional life to her love for animals, especially her Great Dane, Dexter. Amanda's passions include singing and exploring new cultures through travel. Raised just blocks from the Gellert Library, her deep community ties reflect her commitment to promoting personal growth and empowering those around her.

Online Resources

A wide selection of digital resources are available to the NDNU community:

  • Library Discovery Catalog
    • Using the DISCOVERY search bar is a great way to start your research process. This search bar on the library's home page simultaneously searches the Gellert Library's physical holdings as well as some databases of digital journals. DISCOVERY is just a starting point, so you can use the Advanced Search to expand the search pool and narrow your search results.
  • A-Z List of Databases
    • This list organizes all of the eResource databases available through the Gellert Library. Select a database to search for journals, periodicals, articles, and eBooks. You can also choose a database by subject.
  • Virtual Book Displays
    • Check out the virtual book displays put together by Gellert librarians for the NDNU community. You'll find resources from libraries, museums, and publications from around the world on important topics and communities.

To access databases and other electronic resources provided by the NDNU Gellert Library while off-campus, you will need to provide authentication by logging in with your NDNU email credentials. When you select a database or an online resource in the catalog, such as an article or ebook, you will be prompted with a login page. Use your NDNU email username (everything before the "@ndnu.edu" or "@student.ndnu.edu") and password.

Please contact the library via email (library@ndnu.edu) for assistance in accessing the Gellert Library's physical books remotely. We may be able to provide digital versions of the physical resources you're looking for.

Note that curbside hold/pickup service is no longer available through the Gellert Library.

If you're having trouble accessing resources through the Gellert Library's website, try these troubleshooting steps before reaching out to library@ndnu.

Quick Fixes

  • Try a different web browser. Occasionally a resource will not work well with, or without, a specific browser or plug-in.
  • If your browser seems to hang or not do anything after you enter your username and password, try clicking on the reload or refresh button in your browser.
  • Try rebooting your computer. This easy step helps rule out other kinds of access issues.
  • If you are on campus, try removing the beginning part of the database URL. This may fix access issues caused by the authentication system. The portion of the URL to remove is: https://webinfo.ndnu.edu/login?url=

NDNU Login Information

  • A problem with your NDNU email login information or with the campus network will block your access to Library databases and other electronic resources. If you are unable to login to your NDNU email, contact OIT Help Desk at helpdesk@ndnu.edu

Popups, Cookies, & Javascript 

"File missing: docs\suspend.htm" Error Message

  • You have exceeded the amount of data you can download in an hour, 250MB. Wait 60 minutes and try again. The temporary suspension will expire on its own. If you have questions, email library@ndnu.edu.

Using Campus VPN

  • For faculty and staff using the NDNU Campus VPN, use of the VPN can cause authentication issues. If the login page does not appear, turn off the VPN, refresh or restart your browser, and try again to access the resource through the library website.

Borrowing Policies

All members of the NDNU community, including students, staff, faculty, and alumni, are always welcome in the Gellert Library during our opening hours. These folks are welcome to use library resources, including books and digital resources, wi-fi, computer lab, printer-copier-scanner, and more. 

Members of the broader community, such as Notre Dame High School students and staff, neighbors from Belmont and the surrounding areas, and groups renting the library in an official capacity are welcome to enjoy the space, air conditioning, and restrooms. 

Visitors from any community who do not abide by library policies regarding behavior and use of our resources may be asked to leave the library. 

As an academic environment, the Gellert Library at NDNU welcomes service animals (trained dogs and miniature horses) in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act. We do not allow pets to share our space. Please contact librarian Rachel Paprocki (rpaprocki@ndnu.edu) with any questions about library space use policies.

  • Borrowers are responsible for checked out library materials until they are returned to the Gellert Library circulation desk.
  • Borrowers are prohibited from lending their library card to others.
  • Borrowers who abuse library borrowing privileges may have their privileges suspended throughout the Library. Examples of abusing library borrowing privileges include repeatedly not returning materials on time, not paying replacement bills, not responding to recall notices, and not returning library materials even after replacement bills have been issued.
Patron Group Item Limit* Check out Period**
Students 50 items 16 weeks
Faculty 100 items 16 weeks
Staff 25 items 16 weeks
Alumni 10 items 4 weeks

*Reference materials and periodicals do not circulate outside of the library.

**Checked out items cannot be renewed online at this time.

Library books may be returned to the book return bin located outside the library entrance. If you cannot return to campus, ship books by mail in a padded envelope to:

Gellert Library
Notre Dame de Namur University
1500 Ralston Ave.
Belmont, CA 94002

If you are unsure what library books you have checked out, log into your library account. Email library@ndnu.edu with any questions or concerns.

Books returned to the outside library return bin will be backdated once library staff can retrieve the returns. All replacement bills will be waived for returned overdue books. 

If a library item is damaged or lost, contact the Library by email immediately. Patrons are subject to receive a repair or replacement bill if material is returned damaged or more than 30 days after the due date at the following rates:

  • Replacement bill for physical holdings including books and periodicals is $100 per item

In lieu of paying a replacement bill for lost material, a replacement copy may be provided at the discretion of the librarian. All replacement copies are reviewed by the Librarians to ensure the exact same title and edition was received and the item is in “like new” condition. Replacement copies are not accepted if used, damaged, or a different edition than the lost item. Do NOT purchase a replacement copy until the Librarian has confirmed that a replacement can be accepted. If you subsequently returned an item after the payment was made, you may apply for a refund by emailing the Library (library@ndnu.edu).