Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Guide for International Students

Getting Started with Discovery

DISCOVERY is the library’s tool that searches for books, journal articles, videos, and e-resources at once.

You can find the DISCOVERY search box on the library home page.

Basic Search

Using the above interface, you can search the collections of the Gellert Library as well as the collections of many other libraries worldwide, although you always see items from our library’s collections and services first.

Simply enter your search terms in the search box on the homepage. The search results will include material relevant to your topic in various formats. With DISCOVERY you can locate library items, directly access electronic resources, and refine your search results by applying filters. For more information please view the following tutorial.

 

Filtering Your Results

Use the left hand column of the search results page to filter those results.

You can filter by format, scholarly/peer-reviewed, year published, and more. Use these filters to see only the materials most relevant to you.

By default, DISCOVERY searches only materials held in print or digitally by NDNU. If you can't find what you need, try the option to "Search Libraries Worldwide" and find materials you can request via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Advanced Search

Advanced Search Options

DISCOVERY's Advanced Search allows you to search by keyword, title, author, subject, or ISBN/ISSN/OCLC Number, as well as to limit results by library, format, publication date, content, audience, or language.

 

Search More Databases

By default, DISCOVERY searches NDNU's catalog of print and e-books and two general databases. Using Advanced Search, you can select additional library databases, including subject specific databases, to be searched.

Use the database selection tool on the right side of the advanced search screen to add or subtract databases to be searched.

If you add or subtract databases, remember to hit "Save Changes" at the top before performing your search.

 

 

Search Term Options

Use advanced search to make sure you're getting only the results most relevant to you.

Add as many search terms as you would like in the boxes on the advanced search page. You can add more lines if necessary. With the "operator" option you can even make sure that certain search terms are excluded from your results.

 

Format Options

Below the search boxes there are options to limit your search results by format, labeled "Search Tools". Here you can select to view only peer-reviewed articles, only materials in a certain format (books, ebooks, articles, etc.), limit by publication year, or search beyond NDNU's collection.

These limiters can also be changed on the search results page via the column on the left.