If you're looking for background information to contextualize your research topic, books are an ideal source for learning about the foundational people, events, theories, and texts of education. Because books take longer to write and publish than journal articles do, they don't always include the most recent data, but books can provide deeper engagement with a topic than a journal article can.
|
ProQuest eBook Central230,000+ ebooks, with an easy-to-use interface. |
JSTORA great source for historical primary sources |
EBSCO eBook Collection6,300+ ebooks to read online or download. |
Other great databases include:
Articles from other disciplines such as psychology and sociology might also be fruitful for your research. Click here to view all the Gellert Library's databases.
This fundamental, easy-to-read book explains how to choose significant topics, pose genuine and productive questions, find and evaluate sources, build sound and compelling arguments, and convey those arguments effectively to others.
This book is based on research and scholarship produced by the Meyerson Disability Research Project (MDRP) at the University of Arizona.
An anthology with chapters exploring various ethical challenges in contemporary education.
A comprehensive overview of the theoretical, conceptual, and applied/practical presentations of action research as it is found and conducted solely in educational settings.
Learn which methodologies (research approaches) and methods (data collection and analysis methods) they can use as tools when researching the day-to-day affairs of school and classroom practice.
A historical-philosophical journey presents the development of research methods from their origins to the present day, including discussion of quantitative and qualitative research methods.
Authored by some of the field's foremost scholars, as well as new and up-and-coming academics, this definitive handbook offers a range of cultural, economic, and political perspectives on the state of education policy today.
This volume brings together work developing storytelling and narrative as an educational methodological framework
An introduction to the preparation and use of electronic resources, computer applications, and audio-visual aids which are used in the teaching and learning process.
Get practical tools and strategies for teaching AI across the K-12 curriculum with this accessible guide.
Get practical strategies for using technology to reclaim more personal space and time; connect with colleagues; and make positive changes in your life, in the classroom and on campus.
Discover and explore simple ways to teach digital literacy skills throughout the day and across various content areas, without a formal digital literacy curriculum.
A reflective and practical guide for secondary school teachers on using innovative technologies in the classroom to support multimodal literacy development.
Help students of all levels develop relationships based on mutual trust and understanding in digital spaces and become active, participatory citizens in these spaces.
Three experts on equity and technology offer concrete, evidence-based strategies for classroom teachers to move toward digital equity in K-12 settings.
This text is designed to help teachers and service providers work successfully with children who exhibit emotional and behavioral disorders by affording them a repertoire of valuable, evidence-based treatment strategies.
This book chronicles the professional life of a career-long, inclusive educator in New York City through eight different stages in special and general education.
Focuses on themes related to special education, inclusive practices, individualized instruction, and assistive technology.
The Unteachables explores the discriminatory labeling of Black students, and how it indelibly contributed to special education disproportionality, to student discipline and push-out practices, and to the school-to-prison pipeline effect.
Integrating guidance from the American Psychiatric Association and the World Health Organization, this book synthesizes and builds on existing interdisciplinary research to establish a comprehensive case for effective psycho-educational theory, research, and practice that address learners with special needs.
This book, covering assistive technology, external devices and equipment, provides a guide on the use and scales for a specialist set of conditions.
While this book focuses largely on the current climate of special education for young learners with disabilities, it also looks forward, concluding with a chapter on the future for the topic, both on a research and a practical basis.
This handbook represents the first comprehensive and evidence-based review of theory, research, and practice in the field of adapted physical education.
Draws on information from all major branches of the learning sciences, including philosophy and history, and more modern constructs such as cognitive psychology and neuroscience.
Highlights the role of test-based accountability as a policy framework in American education from 1970 to 2020.
Explores how the Great Recession revealed a system of school choice built on crisis, precarity, and exclusion.
This title gives readers a clear understanding of the true state of public and private education systems in the USA by refuting falsehoods, misunderstandings, and exaggerations - and confirming the validity of other assertions
This diverse and global collection of scholars, educators, and activists presents a panorama of perspectives on media education and democracy in a digital age.
Explores and debunks 10 myths about education in the United States.
This book is about the balancing act that schools and their teachers undertake to respond to the social, emotional, and material needs of their students in the context of standardized testing and accountability policies.
This book traces a history of bilingual education in the US, unveiling the pervasive role of politics and its influence on integrity of policy implementation
This book helps educators support students on that road--not merely to survive trauma but to focus on their strengths and flourish with effective coping skills.
© 2023 Notre Dame de Namur University. All rights reserved.
Notre Dame de Namur University
1500 Ralston Avenue Belmont, CA 94002
Map
