Skip to main content

Library Guide for International Students

Searching for Journal Articles

While we recommend starting your search using DISCOVERY from the library's website that searches all of our library's collection, you may need to consult Article Databases for in-depth and comprehensive research.

Article databases can be accessed from Databases by Subject page. In addition to several general databases that cover many topics, the library's Subject Guides include suggestions for recommended databases according to specific subject areas.

Search with DISCOVERY

To begin your search using the DISCOVERY search box from the library homepage

  • Simply type in your search terms (title, author's name, or subject) and hit enter. You’ll be searching the vast majority of the library’s books, articles, sound files, and more. It’s that easy!
  • Use the filters in the left side column to narrow your search to only full-text, articles, and peer-reviewed.  

 

  • If a full-text of the journal article is available, you will see View Now on the search results page. Click on View full text to view the full-text of the journal article.

 

Search Subject-Specific Databases

DISCOVERY searches books, e-books, articles, dvds, music, and other items owned or subscribed to by the library. 

Article Databases search through all different types of articles from scholarly journals to magazine and newspapers. Our library subscribes to both general databases (which search through journals and magazines from many different disciplines) and subject-specific databases (which search journals on specific topics, such as Psychology or History). Databases By Subject page will help you select databases that are relevant to your subjects. 

Begin Your Search

The databases you decide to search may look different at first. But most databases contain a set of several search boxes. Split up your search terms into one word or a short phrase and enter in each box. The drop-down boxes menus next to the search boxes allow you to use the boolean operators. The default search for most databases is the general keyword search, but you can also search by author, article title journal, name, and subject heading, to name a few. Just use the drop-down menu to select the field. 

 

 

 

 

Refine Your Search

You can refine your results by full-text, peer-reviewed, and date, or by subject term, using the side bar that that comes up on most database search results pages. If you received a small number of search results, you will probably want to retry your search using broader search terms. Subject term provided by the databases can also give you ideas for additional search terms.

 

Pick an article that looks relevant.

Select an article that looks relevant to your topic. This database record for this article (see image below), will include addtional search terms you can use to search for simliar articles. It will also have an abstract where you can read a summary of the article to see if it will be useful for your research. 

 

Find full-text. If your article has a PDF or an HTML full-text link, then you are all set to go! Click on the link and your full-text will appear.

If there is no full-text attached, write down the citation information and ask a librarian.